The Janus Stone by Elly Griffiths

 The Janus Stone cover

The Janus Stone by Elly Griffiths was published in 2010 and is the second book in the series.

Archaeologist Ruth Galloway has been called in to investigate bones which have been found buried in a doorway in an old villa in Norwich. Just how old are they? They were only uncovered because most of the house is being demolished to make way for new homes, but it transpires that the old house had been used as a Catholic children’s home in the past and some members of the police force are jumping to conclusions. Children had gone missing years ago, perhaps they had been murdered and buried there.

In the first book in this series, The Crossing Place, Ruth had a one night stand with Detective Chief Inspector Harry Nelson and she now realises that she’s pregnant, for her it’s a bonus, but she’s not sure how Nelson will react to the news, and to make matters worse she has now met Nelson’s wife and has become a friend.

Ruth is still living in her remote cottage and someone is trying to frighten her – and succeeding.

I’m enjoying this series and will definitely continue with it. Apart from anything else, I want to know what is going to happen in the personal lives of the main characters. It could be very messy.

6 thoughts on “The Janus Stone by Elly Griffiths

  1. Ha ha, I want to know what happens too! Although given the tottering size of my tbr pile I suspect I shall find out vicariously through you, rather than reading the books for myself 😉

  2. I love this series. The characters are great and I like the archeological aspect. I’ve read all the books up to the last, so I know what happens – so far!

    • tracybham,
      Griffiths used too many things that had been in the news not long before she must have started writing this book and I found that kind of amateurish – that she hadn’t taken the trouble to change things much, but I like some of the characters and I found this one to be better.

Leave a Reply to tracybham Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *